Imperfect fatherhood

It’s really sad how I can oscillate between intense love for my daughter and also a lot of anger. Just a small event can spark me off. I still believe that as a four-year-old, my daughter is not expected to be perfect. But somehow I think I have a feeling that if I invest so much time on her, she should be. Or something crazy like that… so if my daughter starts whining, or acting up, especially after I’ve spent a lot of time with her, I lose my patience and get really angry.

Of course I have not hit her or anything. My way of expressing anger is by walking away or switching off… which I think is equally bad.

Anyway… more confessions of an imperfect father.

About NAyK

I'm an Indian. I'm a Christian. I teach Theology at SAIACS, Bangalore, India. I am married, and I have a daughter.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Imperfect fatherhood

  1. Hello….I have three kids and I love them like crazy but there really are times when there’s nothing I like more than shake the life out of them. Parenting can be really frustrating at times but I would never replace it for anything else. I share your sentiments…..and I applaud you for being honest enough to share this.

Leave a Reply

